Funeral Mutes

by Francis Plagne

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    includes PDFs of album artwork and lyric insert
    Purchasable with gift card

      $9 AUD  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Edition of 300 pressed at MPO. Full colour gloss sleeve and A3 lyric insert designed by Annie Portelli.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Funeral Mutes via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      $20 AUD or more 


Cosmos 03:05


Francis Plagne is pleased to announce his new LP, Funeral Mutes, the second release on his vanity label, Mould Museum. Although there have been some collaborations (with Food Court and Andrew Chalk) and a tape in the meantime, Plagne's songs were last heard in long-player form on Tenth Volume of Maps, released in 2011. Here, aided by long-term collaborators Alex Garsden, Yuko Kono, James Rushford and Joe Talia, he continues his exploration of idiosyncratic, extended song forms and fragmentary lyricism. Primarily recorded over a few days in late 2013 in conditions approaching ‘live-in-the-studio’ (with overdubs added in 2014), Funeral Mutes presents six songs that detour through silence, blown bottles, Stormcock-influenced prog folk, a hint of chicken scratch and a drum solo.

‘Plagne’s songs admit to another time, and extend to take in another, possible projection of what the world could be – carefully scripted everyday fantasias, with his backing group playing in thoughtful service to the song. Stripped back to essentials, this music plays tricks with the temporal compass. Funeral Mutes’ hermetic spirit might remind, in passing, of Mayo Thompson, Tyrannosaurus Rex, and/or Canterbury prog. Following singular logic, however, its gilded glide is all its own.’ - Jade Pillar, 2015


released January 9, 2016

Alex Garsden: bottle, guitar, organ, voice
Yuko Kono: bass, voice
Francis Plagne: bottle, guitar, organ, piano, voice
James Rushford: bottle, organ, piano, voice
Joe Talia: bottle, drums, percussion, voice

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Joe Talia, 2013-2015.
Design by Annie Portelli.
Drawings by Hanna Chetwin.


all rights reserved



Francis Plagne Melbourne, Australia

contact / help

Contact Francis Plagne

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Francis Plagne, you may also like: